Sunday, March 9, 2014

Left parties to contest 5 seats in Haryana

CPI (M) is contesting three Lok Sabha seats in Haryana while CPI is contesting on two seats. Those being contested by CPI (M) are Sirsa(SC), Hisar and Bhiwani Mohindargarh while CPI those of the CPI are Karnal and Ambala(SC).

In the dissolved Lok Sabha, out of total 10 seats Congress had 9 and the lone Hisar seat was held by Kuldip Bhishnoi son of Late Sh. Bhajan Lal, former Chief Minister.
Brief profile of the three seats:
There are a total of 10 Lok Sabha Seats in Haryana and each Lok Sabha seat is comprised of 9 assembly segments.
All three seats being contested by CPI (M) fall in the North Westren Haryana border adjoining. Rajanthan districts of Ganga Nagar, Hanumangarh, Churu and Sikar on the South west side while that of Punjab on the North. The three seats are spread over 6 districts of Haryana viz. Sirsa, Fatehabad, Hisar, Bhiwani, Jind and Mohindergarh. Party and mass fronts have a comparatively better presence in these regions due to round the year activities and campaigns on issues of the farmers, agricultural workers, workers of the unorganized sectors, on other livelihood issues as well as on the social issues pertaining to caste oppression, violence against women or criminalization.

Com. Ram Kumar Bahbalpuria
It is a scheduled caste reserve seat. Dr. Ashok Tanwar of the Congress is the sitting MP who has since been appointed president of the Pradesh Congress. It has fairly developed agriculture due to green revolution. Scheduled castes are over 25 percent average here and there are very acute disparities between rich farmers and landless agricultural labourers. Party has contested this seat in 2009 with Com. Ram Kumar Bahbalpuria as its candidate who got 20,000 votes and he is re-nominated this time also. Com. Ramkumar is member of party state secretariat and President of AIAWU state committee. He has been leading several struggles on local issues like MNREGA, PDS, BPL cards, power, water etc. Five assembly segments are under Sirsa district, three in Fatehabad while one is in Jind district.

Phool Singh Sheokand
7 assembly segments are in Hisar district, one each in Bhiwani and Jind districts. The seat is held by Mr. Kuldip Bishnoi who is son of late Ch. Bhajan Lal who was famous for organizing defections and he had launched a separate outfit Haryana Jan Hit Congress (HJC) after defecting from congress and this party has an alliance with BJP in this election.
Our party has also contested this seat twice in 1996 and 1999 with Phool Singh Sheokand as its nominee. He has been renominated this time as well. Phool Singh Sheokand is a party state committee member and vice-president of AIKS Haryana. Sheokand is ex-president of Sarv Karmchari Sangh and led many popular struggles before he left his job in 1996. He has also been SFI state president. A part of the constituency has witnessed worst kind of caste violence against dalits by a section of the rabid caste elements; the Mirchpur infamous episode took place here. Bhagana and Dabra are other villages where atrocities on dalits took place. In all these excesses our party and mass fronts had actively sided with the aggrieved families.
Party and mass fronts, AIKS, AIAWU, CITU, JMS and other organizations are very active in Hisar region round the year.

Master Sher Singh
5 assembly seats are in Bhiwani while four of them fall in Mohindergarh district. Our party had contested Bhiwani (prior to delimitation) in 1999 when late Comrade Prabhat Singh was the candidate. This constituency has a fairly good base of Kisan Sabha with more than 50,000 membership of AIKS which is a popular organization in parts of Bhiwani for successfully launching struggles for compensation of the frequently crop losses due to natural calamities. A large part of the constituency bordering Rajasthan is rain deficient and also lacks irrigation network.

Trade union front has been active against stone mining closure rendering several hundred families to the brink of hunger. Master Sher Singh president of Haryana Kisan Sabha is CPI (M) candidate from this seat. He had been a popular leader of the Sarva Karamchari Sangh and teachers union before his retirement.

Party has been very active in this region on various local issues including social issues.

No comments:

Post a Comment