Tuesday, February 17, 2015

CPIM Jharkhand State Conference

5th State Conference of the CPI(M) in Jharkhand began with ‘ Workers-Peasant Unity’ rally  on February 2, 2015 at Bokaro Steel City, which culminated in a huge mass meeting at Mazdoor Maidan. The meeting was addressed by Polit Bureau Member Brinda Karat and Central Committee Member and MP, Md Salim.

The conference has given a clarion call to launch a relentless mass struggle against loot of  ‘land- forest - natural resources’ by corporates and rebuff the politics of communal frenzy.
The conference inaugurated by Brinda Karat was attended by 248 delegates/observers. 53 comrades enriched the Political Organizational Report placed by State Secretary G.K.Baksi. Discussions were held in a constructive and self-critical atmosphere.

Central Committee member, Madan Ghosh spoke in the delegate session emphasizing the role of leadership and development of mass organizations.

15 resolutions were adopted by the conference.
Polit Bureau Member S Ramachandran Pillai  summed up the deliberations asserted the interconnection with the basic class issues while raising local issues and to link up with the alternative policies pronounced by the party.

The conference unanimously elected a 35 member State Committee. State Committee in its first meeting re-elected  G.K Baksi as the State Secretary.
The conference unanimously elected 8 delegates and 2 observers for the 21st Party Congress.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

AAP Victory in Delhi

The Polit Bureau of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) has issued the following statement:

The Aam Aadmi Party, under the leadership of Arvind Kejriwal, has won an unprecedented and resounding mandate in the Delhi assembly election.  The CPI(M) congratulates the people of Delhi for decisively rejecting the Bharatiya Janata Party.  This massive mandate should enable the new government to adopt and implement policies in favour of the aam aadmi.

Sunday, February 1, 2015

Left parties to contest 14 seats in Delhi

Left parties have joined forces and decided to fight on 14 seats in the upcoming Delhi Assembly polls focussing on various "anti people" policies, resist communal campaigns and highlighting issues of the working poor.
"The CPI, CPI(M), CPI(ML) LIBERATION, SUCI(C), Forward Bloc, RSP and Socialist Party (India) have come to a seat-sharing arrangement and will be extending support to each other on 14 seats," a statement said.

The parties has decided to field its candidates in Timarpur, Ballimaran, Palam, Trilokpuri and Krishna Nagar (CPI), Karawal Nagar and Dwarka (CPI-M), Narela, Wazirpur and Kondli (CPI(M-L) Liberation), Mundka and Nangloi Jat (AIFB), Badli and Sadar Bazar (SUCI(C).

The party statement said that although Socialist Party (India) and RSP are not contesting any seat, they will support the above candidates fielded by other Left parties.

"We will be seeking to highlight issues of Delhi's working poor including implementation of minimum wage and all labour laws, ending contractualization, upholding the right of all street hawkers to ply their livelihood without harassment, end to demolition of jhuggis, legal ownership to slum dwellers...

"...The Left parties are also committed to actively resisting communal campaigns and promoting unity and peace among people," the statement said.

The party alleged that the Narendra Modi government is vehemently pushing forward the neo-liberal agenda as a kind of pay back to the corporates for their support in the elections and is "hell bent on changing labour laws in favour of employers".

"The RSS-BJP is indulging in a venomous communal campaign in order to divide the people and deflect the growing discontent against their government into disruptive channels.

"In Delhi, the BJP-RSS have made cynical attempts to engineer communal violence in Bawana, Trilokpuri, Sriram Colony, Nand Nagri, Madanpur Khadar and others. Their immediate aim is to polarize people on communal lines for electoral gains in the forthcoming Assembly elections...," it said